Phil from this week’s 6294 deploying windows 7 class had a great question!

 

         "The data collection package that runs on the clients, how often does it run and can we scheudle it?"

 

    Great question Phil! I thought I would barrage you all with reference information on this one. First off…

 

    How the Application Compatibility Toolkit Data Collector Works

 

    In direct response to his quesiton above I dug up this info…

 

In the When to monitor application usage area, define when your data-collection package will run and for how long, including:

  • Starting: To set the date and the time that your data-collection package will begin collecting data, click one of the following options:
    • As soon as possible after install
    • At specified date and time

Important

ACT uses Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) instead of local time. Therefore, if you set your data-collection package to start at 6:05 P.M. Eastern Standard Time and run for five minutes, the data-collection package will actually start at 3:05 P.M. Pacific Standard Time, 5:05 P.M. Central Standard Time, 6:05 P.M. Eastern Standard Time, and so on. Selecting a specific date and time means that your compatibility evaluators will not begin collecting data until your configured date and time. However, you must deploy your data-collection package prior to your specified time, so it can install your compatibility evaluators.

  • Duration: In the box, type a numerical value that defines how long the data-collection package will run, and then select Days, Hours, or Minutes in the list.

Important

Your data-collection package duration runs in chronological time. Therefore, if you shut down your computer and the specified duration elapses while the computer is off, when you turn the computer back on, the data is uploaded and the data-collection package exits.

  • Upload data every: Select 2 hours, 4 hours, 8 hours, or 12 hours, depending on how long you set ACT to wait between each upload of your application-compatibility data.

Important

If you are running a data-collection package based on the Applying Windows Updates option, we recommend that you select the 2-hour upload option.

 

This info was found here…  Creating a Data Collection Package

When looking bigger picture here on how the tool is used to collect data, use this outline with links here…  Phase 1: Collecting Your Compatibility Data

Or for a real tech deep dive…  Microsoft Application Compatibility Toolkit Data Collector (ACT-DC) Technical Reference

« »